7_ALucas_HandMadeTray2

Our next presenter is a magician at moving metal around, she is also one of the coolest ladysmiths around!

May we present Avery Lucas!!

Title/Topic: Chasing and Repousse Techniques: Chasing Relief

Overview:

Chasing and repousse has been used since ancient times to emboss sheet metal into patterns, textures, and images. The French term repousse literally translates as ‘to push out’ and refers to forming metal out from the backside. By using heat, hammers, and chasing tools, this demonstration will utilize the malleable quality of metal to achieve high and low relief. From large to small, these decorative forming techniques can be applied to enhance the visual vocabulary of jewelry, sculptures, and functional objects.

Emphasis of the demonstration will be on showing my own process. I use forming and chasing as a way of developing a three-dimensional drawing through mark making.

An artist talk will underline how my studio practice has become a push and pull of tool marks against copper as I cultivate my relationship between material and my own hands. The hammered skin of the metal becomes a reflection of my own body. These objects catalog my own kinesthetic understanding and analysis of human emotion. Making always opens another door, asks another question, and gives me the yearning to chase after myself. All the while, I rely on my own two hand define and articulate a space within which to operate as a maker.

Biography

Originally from Cape Ann, Massachusetts, Avery Lucas has lived in the Providence area since she was an undergraduate at Rhode Island College, graduated in 2009. In addition, Avery received with her Master of Fine Arts degree in Jewelry/Metals from the University of Massachusetts – Dartmouth, in 2012. Avery is moving towards the future while she builds up her own studio and pursues a professional life as an artist. In 2013, Avery’s metal work won “Best Of” Contemporary Art Month for a featured exhibition at Equinox Gallery in San Antonio, Texas. Avery has also lectured and taught workshops at Rhode Island College, State University of New York – New Paltz, and at the Fuller Craft Museum.

