2013 – Symposium Presenters Extended part 7

Good morning everyone,
Today we’d like to introduce you to Gary Schott.

Biography
I was born and raised in Green Bay, Wisconsin, and currently reside in San Antonio, Texas. In addition to my role as the Chair of the Jewelry/Metals Department at the Southwest School of Art, I maintain my own studio practice.

I earned my BFA from the University of Wisconsin-Stout and then attended the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign where I received my MFA. I also had the opportunity to work as an apprentice goldsmith while finishing my undergraduate degree.

Intrigued by the term utilitarian, I find myself drawn towards creating objects that balance between aesthetics and function; wearable and non-wearable.

Perhaps the simplest answer when asked, “What do you do in your studio?” is to say, ” I design objects for interactive moments.”

Workshop Description

Making a Small Toy

Want to feel a bit more confident with rivets and tab-construction? Ever felt that your work could use just a bit of simple mechanical motion? Then this workshop is for you! Students will be lead through a start-to-finish toy project that examines and executes both traditional and non-traditional cold-connections. We’ll examine a basic version of a crank, lever, cam and linkages. A design will be provided for all participants so that time can be focused on technique instead. There will be will discussion about mechanisms, beyond our workshop exercise, as time permits. Students should feel moderately comfortable with the jeweler’s saw frame, small-scale soldering, and finishing techniques.

Check back later today for a preview of Rachel Timmins.

